For My Eyes

At the age of fourteen the doctors prescribed for me eyeglasses of half diopter for short-sightedness, and when I graduated from high school my eyeglasses were six and a half diopters.

When I came to Sofia to study to become a kindergarten teacher, I had the opportunity to hear the Master's lectures and to talk with him.

One day I decided to talk to him about my eyes. At that time I was too naive in my belief and did not know what it really meant to be a pupil.

"Please, Master, tell me how to cure my eyes. I want to be an occult pupil and therefore I have to free myself from all defects and illness. I will do anything you tell me. You see what happened to my eyes through the help of the doctors. I beg you to help me." I said all this with full faith in him and awaited his reply.

"Every disease has two causes-one physiological and another psychological. Now I shall explain to you the physiological cause of your short-sightedness. Imagine the eye-ball, the iris . . . and at the bottom the yellow macula. When a person is short-sighted, the rays of the light that enter the eye do not refract in the yellow macula; they refract before reaching it," the Master explained.

"Now, your task is to prolong the rays that enter into your eyes so that they reach, and refract in, the yellow maculae. First, take off your eyeglasses and henceforth you will wear them only when you go to the theatre or when you wish to see something very far away."

"I am so used to them that without them on the streets I won't be able to see my acquaintances three steps away from me," I tried to object.

"Well, you will see only those that are next to you," the Master answered merrily. "Second, you will chose a time in the morning, at noon and in the evening when for five minutes you will concentrate on your eyes, without anybody knowing what you are doing. You will imagine your eyes and prolong in your thoughts the rays up to the yellow maculae."