The Police Investigation. Interrogation Protocol

The Police Investigation

Around 1924, Ivan Tolev, publisher of the occult magazine Vsemirna Letopis ("Universal Chronicle") fell out with Peter Dunov over the Brotherhood's refusal to provide financial support for the publication. The subscribers were few and could not cover the expenses. Tolev insisted that Peter Dunov recommend the magazine to his disciples. Comments appeared in the press, and the authorities launched an investigation. On the 21st of July, 1925, Peter Dunov was summoned for questioning. Then he was asked to write a witness statement.' In that document, he gave an accurate and justified response.

Interrogation Protocol

My name is Peter Konstantinov Dunov, from Varna, aged 60, of Bulgarian nationality, with a clean record, a teacher by profession. I hereby declare that:

My teaching is based on three main principles: Divine Love, Divine Wisdom, and Divine Truth. From these three principles, it follows that we need absolute peace, mutual understanding between people and mutual help for universal benefit. My teaching excludes any violence and demands absolute purity of thought, feeling, and action. One of the most important requirements to all its followers is flawless morality.

In order to be able to adopt and apply all truths of the teaching of Christ, a disciple of the Divine School must be pure in a physical, moral and spiritual sense. Any violation of this requirement is an important obstacle to his development. A disciple must be flawless in any respect, both to himself and to others, to society and to the state. I recommend the observance of the established laws and regulations. Every imperfection and flaw in the social and the state order can be corrected by means of self-perfection, for it has been said: "Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect." The Church must always be in full accord with the Divine Love, Wisdom, and Truth.